2015 Australia Council Student Paper Winners

Postgraduate Prizes

1st Prize - $500 and a certificate


Shenglong Yu

Shenglong Yu from the University of Western Australia for his paper State Estimation of Doubly Fed Induction Generator Wind Turbine in Complex Power Systems, available here.

2nd Prize - $300 and a certificate

Muhammad Yasir from the University of South Australia for his paper Indoor Position Tracking using Multiple Optical Receivers

Undergraduate Prizes

1st Prize - $300 and a certificate


Rizhong Kang

Rizhong Kang from the University of Sydney for his paper An Improved Decision Tree-Based Online Preventative Control Tool for Small-Signal Enhancement in Power Systems, available here.

2nd Prize - $200 and a certificate, shared between:


Daniel Marshall

Daniel Marshall from the Research School of Engineering, Australian National University, for his paper Performance Comparison of Device-to-Device Mode Selection Schemes, available here.


Jason Wood

Jason Wood from Griffith University for his paper Resonance Properties of a LiPo Battery as a proximity coupled S Band Patch Antenna, available here.

Women in Engineering Prize

$300 and a certificate


Meng Xu

Meng Xu from the University of New South Wales, Canberra, for her wonderfully impressive paper Cloud Removal Based on Sparse Representation via Multitemporal Dictionary Learning, available here.